Go to our home page America's Boating Club®
 For Boaters, By Boaters

America's Boating Club Charleston™
 Charleston Sail and Power Squadron

Our burgee  

Abbreviated History of the Charleston Power Squadron
Second Twenty-five Years
(1972 to 1997)

by P/C Harl Porter, SN

1972 - Fred Johnson engineered a project to have bridge tenders acknowledge signals made by boaters for opening bridges for water traffic.

1973 - Charleston Power Squadron hosted D26 Spring Conference at the Mills Hyatt House.

1974 - Very active year of teaching, work and boating.

1975 - Charleston Power Squadron Headquarters moved to Mt. Pleasant; many hours of labor to make it suitable.

1976 - United States Bicentennial year and 30th year of Charleston Power Squadron. Over 64 USPS vessels in Charleston Harbor to welcome the USCG bark Eagle.

1977 - District 26 Change of Watch hosted by Charleston Power Squadron at Colony House. Over 100 people attended our annual Christmas Party.

1978 - Charleston Power Squadron hosted over 200 people for the District 26 Summer Cruise. Charleston Ladies Squadronettes, was formed.

1979 - Headquarters building at 1376 Orange Grove Road was purchased. Equity was purchased for $24,000 and mortgage was assumed. Charleston Power Squadron was first squadron in District 26 to own its Headquarters Building.

Charleston Power Squadron was host to the Blessing of the Shrimp Boats leading the parade of boats.

1980 - P/C (1976) Robert Gissell was installed as District 26 Commander. Charleston Power Squadron Headquarters building was remodeled. The Charleston Power Squadron Auxiliary (for ladies) was formed with Margaret Thompson (wife of P/C (1980) Donald Thompson) as their first President.

1981 - Charleston Power Squadron hosted the District 26 Spring Conference and the District Summer Cruise. C/C Pou Bailey attended the Spring Conference.

1982 - USPS Governing Board omitted the word “male” from the USPS Constitution and By-Laws. This permitted ladies to join in full membership.

1983 - P/C (1979) Harry Brunson was installed as District 26 Commander.

1984 - Headquarters building mortgage was retired.

The USPs Annual Meeting was attended by 146 people from District 26 which included 24 from Charleston. All traveled to Miami via D26 charted busses.

1985 - Another bus trip to Miami for USPS Annual Meeting. Over 250 registered for our Spring and Fall Boating Classes.

1986 - Two members awarded Life Membership (after 50-years in USPS): P/C (1966) Thomas Welsh and Cdr (1986) Hilary Winters. Squadron membership now at 145 members. Squadron telephone was installed in Headquarters Building.

1987 - Wilton Poulnot only Charter Member who is still active. P/C (1969) Charles Rhea installed as District 26 Commander.

New class room added at rear of our building. Material cost approx $3,000; labor donated by the Church renting our building. All dinner meeting were held at local restaurants, since our membership and participation at meetings had grown to large for our Headquarters Building.

On a rather informal rendezvous in the harbor, a member proposed marriage by having a plane tow a banner over the anchored boats with the message: “Barbara will you marry me?”. Our By-Laws were changed to conform with National’s Model By-Laws. We also changed our fiscal year to begin on 1 December and moved our Change of Watch to November.

1988 - P/C (1982) William Taylor installed as District 26 Commander. Sponsored three Public Boating Classes with 313 students.

1989 - 75th USPS Anniversary and HURICANE HUGO. Many members lost their boats or suffered heavy property damaged. Buzzards Roost Marina was totally destroyed. Squadron membership at 189 members.

1990 - More than 200 members at year end. Charleston Power Squadron almost bought a site for a new headquarters. Acquisition was blocked by opposition of Skinner Avenue residences.

1991 - P/C (1987) John Sikes, then Editor of the Palmetto Log, was awarded the Bronze Propeller Award. At that time P/C Sikes was the only member who had received all the squadron awards.

1992 - In February the squadron moved its membership meeting location from local restaurants to the more spacious Dolphin Cove Marina.

1993 - National dues were increased which caused us to lose many members. Charleston Power Squadron searching for new Headquarters Building.

1994 - Purchases lot in back of our headquarters for a expanded parking lot. Fence, required by city planning board was built and planted plants and shrubbery in the buffer zone. All variances were approved and the neighbors signed agreements to changes done in back. Building was improved: new columns were added, two new air-conditioners and one heater were replaced with new duct work installed.

Classes were held for ALL COURSES this year. Three Public Boating Classes were held, two at Middleton High School and one in Goose Creek; we had over 200 hundred graduates.

1994 - Cdr Munford Jeter, XO Elizabeth King, SEO Mary Favaro,, AO Jim McCullough, Sect Harry Gindhart & Treas Larry Joyce. 50th anniversary chair - Harry Gindart. Switched 96 Spring Conference with Beaufort so Charleston to coincide with our 50th anniversary.

Hilton Head, Harbor town, cruise in May. Larry Joyce on Joy-Toy takes first place in power boat division in Christmas Parade of Boats.

1995 - Lary Joyce on Joy-Toy takes first place (again) in power boat division in Christmas Parade of Boats. Teaching Aids Instructor Qual 1st Place. Palmetto Log wins Journalistic Excellence Award.

1996 - Cdr Jim McCullough, AP, XO Harry Gindhart, SEO Larry Bandy, AO Larry Joyce, Sect Merellene Ward, Treas John VanWay.

50th Annervisity, and D26 Spring Conference, at Town and Country Inn in March. P/C/C Gillette Gordon guest of Honor.

Joint cruise with Swamp Fox to Beaufort

Palmetto Log ran both current month Executive Committee Meeting minutes and 1946 Squadron meeting minutes for same month.

July Ensign cover featured Charleston PWC on its cover. Proudly flying the USPS ensign; needless to say this created quite a controversy

COW at Charleston AFB Officers Club. Awards to: Kenneth Beeber, Hary Darby, Bob Johnson, Tony Ward; Bonner Award not presented

1997 - Cdr Harry Gindhart, XO Larry Joye, SEO Larry Brandy, AO Merellene Ward, Sect Tony Ward & Treas John VanWay. Change of Watch at Charleston AFB, Officers Club.

  Home Page
About Charleston
About Us
Cooperative Charting
Course Descriptions
Course Schedule
Cruise Schedule
Directions to HQ
Membership Benefits
Membership Roster
Merit Marks
Officers (the Bridge)
Other Websites
Our Boats
Port Captains
Site Map
Vessel Safety Checks
What's New
Youth Outreach
Copyright © 2014 America's Boating Club Charleston         Last updated January 20, 2014